Home / About / Committee for Archaeology in Gloucestershire / Resource List

Gloucestershire Archaeological Resource List

This list prepared by the Committee for Archaeology in Gloucestershire (CAG) gives the names of organistions and individuals active in the modern county of Gloucestershire. In addition to the usual contact details it gives a brief indication of particular topics of interest (e.g. Prehistoric, Roman, Industrial).

If you are unsure who to contact then try the Gloucestershire County Council Archaeology Service who will be able to advise you of suitable contacts. A section of the Archaeology Service maintains the County Historic Environment Record which contains details of about 20,000 sites relating to Gloucestershire's historic environment. If you have found an object and would like help identifying it please contact the Finds Liasion Officer who will be pleased to help you.

Code numbers (1-4) are used to indicate areas of expertise where 1 = fieldwork, 2 = excavation, 3 = artifacts and 4 = publication

A.  County and City Archaeology Services
B.  Educational Establishments
C.  Museums and National Groups
D.  Archaeological Consultants
E.  Archaeological Societies and Related Bodies
F.  Individuals

Contacts for Local History Societies may be found on the Gloucestershire Local History web site.
Please notify CAG of any corrections or amendments

A.  County and City Archaeology Services

Gloucestershire County Council Archaeology Service
Environment Dept.
Shire Hall
Gloucester GL1 2TH
01452 425683
Toby Catchpole
www.gloucestershire.gov.uk/archaeology
toby.catchpole@gloucestershire.gov.uk
Finds Liasion Officer: Kurt Adams
kurt.adams@gloucestershire.gov.uk
01452 425705
Will identify and record archaeological finds. All periods. Primary contact point for non-professionals.
General
1, 2, 3, 4
Gloucester City Council Archaeology Unit
Herbert Warehouse
The Docks
Gloucester GL1 2EQ
01452 396346
Andrew Armstrong
Gloucester City Archaeologist
andrew.armstrong@gloucester.gov.uk
Gloucester City
1, 2, 3, 4
Bristol City Council Archaeology Service
Brunel House
St George's Road
Bristol BS1 5UY
0117 9223000
Peter Insole
archaeology@bristol.gov.uk
General
1, 2, 3, 4
South Gloucestershire Archaeological Service
PO Box 2081
The Council Offices
Castle Street, Thornbury
Bristol BS35 9BP
01454 868004
Paul Driscoll
archaeology.services@southglos.gov.uk
General
1, 2, 3, 4

B.   Educational Establishments

Bristol University
Department of Archaeology and Anthropology
43 Woodland Road
Bristol BS8 1UU
0117 9546050
http://www.bristol.ac.uk/archanth/
arch-anth@bristol.ac.uk
General
1, 2, 3
Cirencester College
Archaeology and Education
Fosseway Campus
Stroud Road
Cirencester GL7 1XA
01285 640994
John Dewar
www.cirencester.ac.uk
jwd@cirencester.ac.uk
also Jim Grant jwg@cirencester.ac.uk
General
1, 2, 3

C.  Museums and National Groups

Bristol Museums
Queens Road
Bristol BS8 1RL
0117 9223571
www.bristol.gov.uk/page/leisure-and-culture/museums-and-galleries
general.museum@bristol.gov.uk
General
3, 4
Chedworth Roman Villa
National Trust
Chedworth Roman Villa
Yanworth
Cheltenham GL54 3LJ
01242 890256
01242 890544
www.nationaltrust.org.uk
chedworth@nationaltrust.org.uk
General
2, 3
Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum
Clarence Street
Cheltenham GL50 3JT
01242 237431
www.cheltenhammuseum.org.uk
artgallery@cheltenham.gov.uk
General
3
Corinium Museum
Park Street
Cirencester GL7 2BX
01285 655611
Dr Alison Brookes
coriniummuseum.cotswold.gov.uk
alison.brookes@cotswold.gov.uk
Roman / General
3, 4
Dean Heritage Centre
Camp Mill
Soudley
Cinderford GL14 7UG
01594 822170
www.deanheritagecentre.com Industrial / General
3
Gloucester City Museum & Art Gallery
Brunswick Road
Gloucester GL1 1HP
01452 396131
David Rice
www.gloucester.gov.uk/freetime/museums
museums@gloucester.gov.uk
General
3
Stroud District Museum Service
Museum in the Park
Stratford Park
Stroud GL5 4AF
01453 763394
www.museuminthepark.org.uk
museum@stroud.gov.uk
Industrial / General
3

D.  Archaeological Consultants

Avon Archaeology Ltd
Avondale Business Centre
Woodland Way
Kingswood
Bristol BS17 1AW
0117 9608487
www.avonarchaeology.co.uk
mail@avonarchaeology.co.uk
General
1, 2, 3, 4
Bristol and Region Archaeological Services
St Nicholas Church
St Nicholas Street
Bristol BS1 1UE
0117 903 9010
John Bryant
www.baras.org.uk
info@baras.org.uk
General
1, 2, 3, 4
Bristol and West Archaeology
Parkfield House
Parkfield
Pucklechurch
Bristol BS16 9NS
0117 9372450
www.bristolandwestarchaeology.co.uk
General
1, 2, 3, 4
Cotswold Archaeology
Building 11,
Kemble Enterprise Park,
Cirencester, Glos. GL7 6BQ
01285 771022
Neil Holbrook
www.cotswoldarch.org.uk
info@cotswoldarch.org.uk
General/Cirencester
1, 2, 3, 4
Oxford Archaeology
Janus House
Osney Mead
Oxford 0X2 OES
01865 263800
David Jennings
www.oxfordarchaeology.com
d.jennings@oxfordarch.co.uk
General
1, 2, 3, 4
Past Historic
6 Church Street
Kings Stanley
Stonehouse, GL1O 3JX
Carolyn Heighway
Carolyn@pasthistoric.fsnet.co.uk
General
4

E.  Archaeological Societies and Related Bodies

Bristol & Gloucestershire Archaeological Society
Stonehatch,
Oakridge Lynch,
Stroud,
Glos GL6 7NR
01452 302610
John Loosley
www.bgas.org.uk
john@loosleyj.freeserve.co.uk
General
4
Bristol & Avon Archaeological Society
14 Goldney Road
Bristol BS8 4RB
0117 9620161
Gundula Dorey
www.digitalbristol.org/members/baas
General
2, 4
Council for British Archaeology (CBA) South West
01326 312511
cbasw.org
caradocp@gmail.com
General
1, 2, 3, 4
Crickley Hill Archaeological Trust
Well Farm, Wick St.
Painswick GL6 7QR
01452 813958
Richard Savage
savagely@globalnet.co.uk
Prehistoric
1, 4
Dean Archaeological Group
Highbeech House
Highbeech Road
The Pludds
Ruardean GL17 9UD
01594 861048
Phil Riches
www.deanarchaeology.org.uk
pauletteriches@btinternet.com
General
1, 2, 3, 4
Gloucestershire Archaeology (GlosArch)
8 Churchfield Road
Stroud GL5 1EQ
01453 759516
Marta Cock
www.glosarch.org.uk
marta.rc@btinternet.com
General
1,2, 3, 4
Gloucestershire Society for Industrial Archaeology (GSIA)
Oak House
Hamshill, Coaley
Dursley GL11 5EH
01453 860595
Dr Ray Wilson
www.gsia.org.uk
ray.wilson@coaley.net
Industrial
1, 2, 3, 4
Young Archaeologists Club (Bath & Bristol)
Bath and Bristol YAC Branch
Flat 4
30 Highbury Road
Weston-super-Mare BS23 2DN
01285 655611
Nick Corcos
bristolandbathyac.wordpress.com
nick.corcos@btinternet.com
Youth activities
1, 2, 3

F.  Individuals

Steve Bagshaw
3 Reed Close
Bristol BS1O 5HB
0117 9240399
steve@hwicce.freeserve.co.uk Masonry / Churches
1, 2, 3
Mark Bowden
English Heritage
The Engine House
Firefly Avenue
Swindon SN2 2EH
01793 414766
mark.bowden@english-heritage.org.uk Landscape archaeology and earthwork survey and analysis
1, 4
Chiz Harward
103 Summer Street
Stroud
GL5 1PQ
07881 486837
chiz@urban-archaeology.co.uk Illustration, excavation, building recording, post-excavation and research
1, 2, 4
Arthur Price
Frocester Court
Frocester
Stroud GL1O 3TN
01453 823250
ajp@ajpstoneid.mail1.co.uk Geology / Quarrying
1, 3, 4
Nigel Spry
72 Laynes Rd
Hucclecote
Gloucester GL3 3PY
01452 534215
nigel.spry@blueyonder.co.uk General
1, 2, 4
Ian Standing
Ellwood Lodge
Little Drybrook
Coleford, GL16 8LP
ian.standing@ellwoodlodge.co.uk Industrial / Landscape /
Forest of Dean
1, 3, 4
Lionel Walrond
5 Slad Road
Stroud GL5 1GJ
01453 752572
Industrial / Historic buildings
1